Band Awards Presented During Final Concerts

Travis Barton received the coveted Thomas D. Nash Award given to the outstanding jazz musician. The award is named after former jazz band director Thomas Nash who retired in 2000. The award also comes this year with a $150 scholarship from the Thornapple Arts Council.

The Jazz Band also honored eight seniors from their group.

Symphonic Band members Ava Myers and Austin Jones received the prestigious John Philip Sousa Band Awards. This award was introduced in 1955 to honor top high school band students for their musicianship, dependability, loyalty and cooperation. Rickert described Myers and Jones as having “superior musicianship” and as “outstanding human beings.”

Also honored in the symphonic band were student leaders Travis Barton, Hannah Middleton and Shelby Robinett along with the 20 graduating seniors.

At the concert band, three seniors were recognized for their commitment to the band program.