TKHS Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Superintendent Rob Blitchok told the new inductees and guests at the ceremony that being part of NHS is more than just an academic honor roll. "It serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership and character," he said.

He also told students achieving NHS status doesn't mean their work is done.

"But please know that more is expected of you for the remainder of your high school career and beyond. Sustained academic success, a high level of character, and service to others are expected of you," he said.

He also encouraged the students to always strive for their dreams no matter how tough the road may get.

"Do not allow outside factors to limit your dreams and aspirations and do not allow self-doubt to hold you back," he said. "You have much, much more to accomplish in life and you will certainly face steep challenges."

National Honor Society members must have a 3.5-grade point average and have demonstrated skills in leadership, service and character. A five-member TK faculty reviews candidates for membership after reviewing criteria and a written essay.

TKHS National Honor Society President Turner Halle, Vice President Valerie McNamara, Secretary Tate Johnson and Treasurer Carson Denman assisted in the formal induction ceremony each talking about one of the four pillars of NHS.

Halle then led the new members in reciting the NHS pledge.

TKHS teacher Shannon See is the NHS advisor and also spoke about the honor of being an NHS member. TKHS Principal Tony Petersen also acknowledged the students for their achievement and encouraged them to continue being examples for others.

New members inducted are seniors Ellie Adams, Abigail Bremer, Emily Bush, Connor Dannenberg, Camden Dart, Alexander Fabiano, Joseph Fitzgerald, Keauna Hayes, Daniel Knoblauch, Hunter Lapekes, Steven Liu, Ethan Oly, Kaitlyn Smith.

Juniors inducted into the NHS are Sierah Adams, Dalton Bailey, Emma Bainbridge, Megan Baldry, Samantha Barton, Holly Bashore, Kaylyn Beard, Makayla Beardsley, Haley Bovee, Ty Brown, Madeline Butler, Rachel Chesnutt, McKenzie Cooper, Hunter DeHaan, Grace Densham, Gracie DeWent, Dawson Hamming, Ashton Heiser, Russell Holmes, Audrey Johnson, Thomas Johnson, Anna Kaminski, Joselynn Lasch, Jacob Maring, Kenzie McManus, Claire Middleton, Madison Middleton, Anna Miller, Lauren Myers, Matthew Newhouse, McKenna Nichols, Daisy Nowinsky, Ellyana Postma Sydney Purdy, Corrin Replogle, Kaitlyn Robinson, Keeley Satterfield, Laryn Scherzer, Dylan Schleh, Sara Scobey, Madeline Shepard, Cora Siuda, Ashley Snyder, Presley Snyder, Thomas Solomon, Josie Thompson, Andrew Tuokkola, Julianna Van Meter, Charles VanDemark, Sydney VanGessel, Zane Walters, Claudia Wilkinson, Owen Woods.